meshkillo.blogg.se

Macbook pro migration assistant looking for source
Macbook pro migration assistant looking for source








  1. #Macbook pro migration assistant looking for source how to#
  2. #Macbook pro migration assistant looking for source update#

Maybe that lack of support for the hardware was enough to bollocks up the works even though the version of the OS on the Mac Pro should have been fine. That was the last straw that got me to buy the new iMac. It * is* rather ancient for a Mac Pro - one of the first, dual duo-core models - and though Lion was supported on it, Mavericks wasn't. It leaves me wondering what it was about the Mac Pro that prevented things from working. I thought hooking up an Ethernet cable and leaving the backup drive in the Mac Pro shouldn't be all that different, particularly because I eventually wound up being able to access that backup volume in Migration Assistant, but that was clearly (in the end) not the case. I really wish I would have done this first, lol.

macbook pro migration assistant looking for source

Pulling the backup HD from my old Mac Pro, putting it in a USB 3.0 external enclosure, and hooking the enclosure up to my new iMac is working fine. And no, the Apple TV was not on while trying to migrate my data.Īnd the winning answer is: use Time Machine to create a back-up to an external drive. I don't see why this should interfere, but I am able to view and play my music and movies on my TV, so apparently the Apple TV can see the old Mac fine as well. I did try entering "oldMac" for "Other Server" and then "afp://oldMac" and neither of those worked. For the sake of argument, let's say the network's name was "oldMac".

#Macbook pro migration assistant looking for source how to#

Running Migration Assistant, however, I could not see my old Mac's network and, as for clicking on "Other Server" button in the Assistant, I can say I would know how to specify that network's address given the format afp://Server/ShareName/. I created the network on my old Mac, and was able to connect just fine through Finder on my new iMac. I also tried setting up a wireless computer-to-computer connection.

#Macbook pro migration assistant looking for source update#

  • I have run Software Update on both Macs and everything is up-to-date.
  • I did not use Time Machine with my old Mac, and it is turned off on both Macs.
  • Neither Mac is running with the firewall turned on.
  • One support article said that the source Mac had to be running at least OS X 10.6.8.
  • Here's a bit of information that may or may not be pertinent to what's going on: The discussions closest to my problem all have some issue that isn't present for me. Yes, I've searched for other posts about this issue and I've looked at a number of articles about this. The problem is that the Migration Assistant is getting stuck at the "Looking for source" step, trying to find my old Mac with no success.

    macbook pro migration assistant looking for source macbook pro migration assistant looking for source

    I just bought a new iMac today and I am trying to use Migration Assistant to move all my info on my Mac Pro to my new machine.










    Macbook pro migration assistant looking for source